Hi! Welcome.

Hello friends, family, and complete strangers! For those who don’t know me, my name is Kathy. I’ve got a mild rabid obsession with all things yarny, I’m a novice photographer (though my pictures on the blog won’t be publish-worthy), I fancy myself a writer (NaNoWriMo participant since 2007 or so), and I’m a wannabe runner.

Hence the point of this blog. I started running back in 2010, I got a fire lit in me to lose weight and get healthy. Over the course of that year, I lost 30 pounds and ran a 5K….then I stopped…..both. Being public with my accomplishments kept me accountable – after the 5K was done, though, I stopped posting to Facebook about my runs, so I took away the accountability that I had relied on to stick to it.

Now, you may ask, if you can’t stick to it without accountability, then why put yourself through it? It’s easy: I like running – I’m just not terribly motivated to do much of anything ever without accountability. I’m what Gretchen Rubin would call an Obliger – unless I’m obligated to others, I have a hard time convincing myself to do something, especially if it’s “just for me.” (follow the link to see which of Gretchen’s Four Tendencies you fall into – unless you’re a Rebel, then do whatever the heck you want).

So here we are, all caught up.I’m running a hilly half marathon at the end of March 2017, and gosh darn it, I need to make sure I’m in it to finish it. I ran a half marathon at the end of 2015, I did a walk-run combo and resulted in an over-three-and-a-half-hours finish. That’s longer to finish than the year I walked the whole thing :|. To be fair, I walked about half of it because I quit training (BIG mistake).

This time I’ve got a plan in place using MyAsics. I’m estimated to finish in around 2.5 hours with this 38 week plan. Yes, it’s a long plan, but I haven’t really run since November 2015 – I need all the build-up I can get!

Check out my crazy alarm schedule! I’ve got various meetings throughout the week, which cause my alarms to be rather scattered. I love Thursdays though!

Running days (and subsequently blog update days) are Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays, and Sundays.

img_3403
I’m looking forward to being held accountable for my training by you all as I go through this journey, yet again.

Questions to you:

What are your hobbies?

Do you run? Or are you looking for motivation to get healthy? (Maybe we can have a mutually beneficial relationship 😉 )

Have you taken Gretchen Rubin’s Four Tendencies quiz? Where do you fall?

Save

One thought on “Hi! Welcome.

Leave a Reply

