2 weeks in

Welp, here we are nearly two weeks in to my lengthy 38 week training plan. I almost bit the bullet and signed up for another half in November. It was tempting. I then remembered that I don’t want to rush training this time. By March, I’ll be in shape, and then I can sign up for all the half marathons I want. But until I get there, I’m going to enjoy the slow build.

This is my last half mile run. Thank. Goodness! I was happy to learn I can run a half mile without feeling like I was taking my last breath, but I’m ready to ramp up the challenge. Starting Sunday, I’ll do a week of 1-milers, then a week of 2-milers, and we go up from there.

As a result my new alarm schedule looks a little something like this: 

I really don’t like seeing anything before 5am, but I’m committed to this, and it hasn’t been bad so far. I need to make sure to practice “early-to-bed, early-to-rise” mentality. Looks like 8:30pm bedtime for me for a while.

My hope is that it’ll cool down enough to run after work once I start needing to run more than 2 miles in the middle of the week. August 24 is my first 3 mile run mid-week, so I don’t think that’s a realistic hope. Maybe there’ll be a freak cold front that day….? I’ll talk to my local meteorologist to see if we can make that happen 😉

I had a slow run this morning 15:08 minute/mile, due to some…..difficulties. Nothing to worry about though.

Day 6 Gear – Hydration Pack

On those long training runs last year, I found that a hand-held water bottle was most inconvenient. I decided to invest in a nice hydration pack to kill two birds with one stone: 1) hydration! 2) a place to store my keys/ID/lip balm/nutrition etc.

I did my research and found a nice small pack by Osprey. I really like this pack. It sits high on my back, and (if I put the water in right) it doesn’t slosh around like I was afraid of. It has the added bonus of being extremely light weight. I give this one a big thumbs up if you’re looking for a pack yourself.

One thought on “2 weeks in

Leave a Reply

