July Recap

Let’s talk about July! I began this crazy journey two weeks ago. The plan is to be a slow build up to the Rock n Roll Half Marathon in San Francisco in March 2017.

Since starting I’ve run only 4 miles (remember the slow part of my plan….). I’m feeling great and am really motivated. I’ve still got 623 more miles of training to complete, and 142 more runs (which, believe it or not, doesn’t sound terribly daunting)! I’m excited to get into weeks were we’ll have more to talk about than 1-2 mile runs. Truthfully the long runs last year were the best part of my week. Each one was a momentous accomplishment.

Before we launch into the recap, how was your weekend? Mine was great! We went to Carmel on Saturday to work and it was GORGEOUS! We didn’t see the sun at all, it was foggy and down right chilly. A far cry from the 105+ degrees we’ve been seeing in the Valley. While there we popped in at one of our favorite wineries to do some tasting.

 

 

Ok, now on to runningy things. I made a purchase! Because, more than just on the blog, I want to capture my runs somewhere that I can just flip through and see my progress and feel proud. So I bought a running journal. I like wine, so this made sense!

 

 

My run on Sunday was good. I went out for a mile, the first of four this week. It was a little bumpy to start, my body wasn’t getting into the groove; but then again, I got out at 6:30am and it was already a bit balmy as compared to 5am that I’m used to. Around the 0.5 mile mark my calf started tightening up, so I paused to stretch it out and went back on my way. All in all I still completed the run with a 14:27 minute/mile pace, and ran the whole thing except that little pit-stop. I was right in assuming that I will likely slow down once the mileage starts to go up.

 

I got back home to this piece of cuteness. He was belly-up on the couch and sound asleep. He kept stretching out further and further as I sat next to him eating my breakfast. I took about a billion pictures, but I’m sure you don’t want to see all of them…..

 

 

This was a little later in the afternoon, we were trying to get the kitties to play with a toy on the stairs, but they were having none of it. Stairs are a new concept to these two, our old house was single-story. Two months of practice isn’t enough to feel confident in romping down the stairs I guess.

 

 

 

 

 

Now if you’re hungry, you may want to quit here. Sunday night was busy with meal prep for the week. These are my lunches: chicken enchiladas and red rice. Not 100% healthy, but a lot better than other things I could eat. An added bonus being that they’re quick and easy to make.

 

 

I also made Spaghetti Squash Bolognese for dinner. This is a lightly adapted version from Diane Sanfilippo’s Practical Paleo book. Lots of good recipes there!

 

 

 

 

Questions for you:

What fun things did you do this weekend?

Are there any accomplishments you celebrated in July?

 

 

One thought on “July Recap

Leave a Reply

