Celebrations all around

Happy Monday all! How was your weekend? As you can see by my lack of posts mine was BUSY!

Let us start out this post with some celebrations (we’ll get to another celebration once I talk about my running!):

  1. Today is my youngest cousin’s birthday (Happy Birthday!!!)
  2. Today is mine and Ryan’s 11th anniversary (Happy Anniversary!!!) 11 years ago today we decided to partner-up. We’ve had our ups and downs like any relationship, and I’m sure we can drive each other batty at times, but I am so lucky to have him in my life. I couldn’t ask for a better partner in life. After going through 5 moves together (2 of which were homes we purchased); celebrating life events with our loved ones; crazy off-the-cuff adventures to buy cars 6 hours from home; trips to amazing places to photograph the world around us; and just sitting on the couch sipping a glass of wine with the kitties curled up between us, I can’t say I wish my life was anything different than what it is today. To many more decades, Love!
  3. Today we welcomed our new students to campus. Probably one of my favorite events to attend. It’s called “the Bridge Crossing.” All of the new students walk across the bridge and get cheered, high-fived, and serenaded by our Taiko drummers as they cross the bridge and walk through the Beginnings Sculpture, officially becoming part of the campus and starting the next chapter of their lives. When they graduate they do the same, but in reverse. I love the tradition of it. We didn’t have anything like this where I went to college.

Ok, now that I’ve stopped crying quietly to myself from all the happiness, on to the running things (why you’re really here):

Friday was great! I got to sleep in an extra 15 minutes because my boss cancelled our 8am meeting (woot!), so I had plenty of energy for my 2 miler.

2 miles @ 14:44

Yesterday was a little nerve wracking, though: the mileage was bumped up to 3 miles. Eep! I’ve never, that’s right, never run an entire 3 miles. 2 miles, yes, I think I managed that once or twice back in 2010 (maybe….), but 3? Nope – even when I completed my 5K in 2010, I ended up walking some of it because I went out too fast (lessons were learned during that race).

I woke up around 5:30am, super nervous. My alarm wasn’t set to go off until 6am, but I had the jitters, I tossed and turned and probably woke Ryan up with my energy. I didn’t budge from bed until 6 though. I took a deep breath and charged out the door before I could talk myself out of it.

Much like last Sunday, I didn’t rely on my watch; I just ran at a pace that felt comfortable, not overly pushing it, but not going exceedingly slow, either. MyAsics gives me half-mile check ins. So when my first check-in was only 58 seconds faster than the pace prescribed (still 16:07), I was happy with that because it meant 15:00/miles. Plenty good!

However, when my mile check in announced itself, I was VERY surprised because it said 13:49. What?! How can that be? I haven’t been anywhere near sub 14 this entire time, how can I be running that and not feel like I’m about to collapse. Rather than get all in my head about it and slow down, I shrugged it off because I felt good and just kept it steady. Next half mile, I was told I was running 3 minutes/15 seconds too fast. Which means we’re talking sub 13 – still, though, I didn’t feel it.

It was at that point, that I decided to take it down a notch, let’s just crank the enthusiasm back a bit, no need to get injured pushing too hard. I didn’t feel like I was pushing at all. Honestly, I’d gotten in a comfortable groove. So comfortable, in fact, that when Ryan came up and ran with me a little ways, I could actually speak to him (rather than grunt, like I usually do).

Next mile: 13:40. What the heck?! FASTER?! I did slow it down for the last mile. The sun was up and had started beating down on me, so that was 14:19. All in all my average pace for 3 miles was 13:55. Ho-ly-cow.

Let us celebrate this accomplishment. Not only did I run an entire 3 miles, but I also did so nearly effortlessly (relatively-speaking, of course) and faster than I’d dreamed I would at this point in training. Way to go me!

Question for you:

What was your biggest accomplishment/celebration this week?

3 thoughts on “Celebrations all around

  1. We saw the Bridge Crossing on the news. The students all looked so happy and ready to start the new year. 🎓📕📚

Leave a Reply

