Out of Commission

Hello! As the title suggests, I’m out of commission for the time being. I’ve been quietly dealing with some foot pain since mid-August. Assuming it was just a matter of working out some kinks, I kept running through it.

Last Sunday did me in. Before then, the pain would subside by the end of a running day, but Sunday left me hobbling well into Tuesday, and my run on Tuesday was excruciating. I did some research and decided to go to the doctor to get an x-ray to rule out a stress fracture.

Thankfully it’s not a fracture, but the doctor did tell me to stay off of it as much as possible for the following 10 days. Only then can I try a “brisk” walk.

Staying off your foot is hard work though, and frankly, it hasn’t gotten better since my appointment last week. I just keep aggravating it. A quarter mile walk to work, and then back to my car on weekdays doesn’t help – nor does the demands of my job wandering around campus for various meetings, or checking on classrooms (nor did my trip to see the 49ers play the Packers on Friday, nor did my trip to the beach on Saturday…..beach sand is not the best to walk on with foot troubles).

The elevator is my frenemy at the moment. I don’t usually use it at all to get to my 3rd floor office, but hobbling up the stairs just makes matters worse. I use it going up, but still refuse a ride going down, I know I should use it both ways but my stubborn “you can’t tell me what to do!” side is coming out.

My running plan is on hold for the week. I’ll reassess on Sunday to see how my foot feels. I can’t imagine it feeling 100% even then given the amount of pain I’m in today. I’ll try to take it one day at a time, though. You all have a great week!

Leave a Reply

